PGA Championship 2022: Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson officially in field at Southern Hills


On Monday the PGA of America announced the field for its 2022 PGA Championship beginning next week at Southern Hills. Though 156 players will tee it up in Tulsa, most eyes gravitated towards two names.

That would be Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson. Woods made his first tournament start since his February 2021 car accident last month at the Masters and made a scouting trip to Southern Hills in late April. Though Woods intends to play in the year’s second major, sources in Woods’ camp told Golf Digest Woods is waiting to see how his body responded to an increased workload before making any final decisions. Woods has won four career Wanamakers, including the 2007 PGA contested at Southern Hills.

As for the reigning PGA champ, a title defense would signal an end to Mickelson’s sabbatical from the sport since his comments on Saudi golf went public in February. Seth Waugh, the CEO of the PGA of America, said on the “5 Clubs Conversation” podcast that he’s had a “number” of talks with Mickelson over the last several weeks and that they will continue to do so as the championship nears. Waugh said that though Mickelson is registered to play in the PGA Mickelson has not yet said if he’s going to compete. Mickelson has also registered for the inaugural LIV Golf series event in June along with the U.S. Open the following week.

It should be noted the field is far from final; for example Bryson DeChambeau is listed among the participants. While DeChambeau has not officially pulled out of the competition, his presence would be a surprise given his recent surgery.

According to the PGA of America the field includes 17 PGA champions, 34 major winners and the top 70 players who have earned the most PGA Championship points through the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship, along with the the top-20 finishers from the 2022 PGA Professional Championship. The final spot in the field is reserved for winner of the AT&T Byron Nelson. Brendan Steele is listed as the first alternate.

2022 PGA Championship field

Alex Beach – Stillwater, MN

Oliver Bekker – SOUTH AFRICA

Daniel Berger – Jupiter, FL

Christiaan Bezuidenhout – SOUTH AFRICA

Brandon Bingaman – Dallas, TX

Richard Bland – ENGLAND

Michael Block – Mission Viejo, CA

Matt Borchert – Winter Garden, FL

Keegan Bradley – Woodstock, VT

Ryan Brehm – Mt. Pleasant, MI

Dean Burmester – SOUTH AFRICA

Sam Burns – Shreveport, LA

Laurie Canter — England

Patrick Cantlay – Jupiter, FL

Cameron Champ – Sacramento, CA

Stewart Cink – Atlanta, GA

Tyler Collet – Vero Beach, FL

John Daly – Dardanelle, AR

Jason Day, Jason – AUSTRALIA

Bryson DeChambeau – Dallas, TX

Paul Dickinson – Montauk, NY

Jason Dufner – Auburn, AL

Harris English – Sea Island, GA

Tim Feenstra – Fall City, WA

Tony Finau – Salt Lake City, UT

Matt Fitzpatrick – ENGLAND

Rickie Fowler – Murrieta, CA

Tommy Fleetwood – ENGLAND

Lucas Glover – Jupiter, FL

Talor Gooch – Edmond, OK

Branden Grace – SOUTH AFRICA

Lanto Griffin — Jacksonville Beach, FL

Jusin Harding — SOUTH AFRICA

Brian Harman – Sea Island, GA

Padraig Harrington – IRELAND

Tyrrell Hatton – ENGLAND

Russell Henley — Columbus, GA

Lucas Herbert – AUSTRALIA

Garrick Higgo – SOUTH AFRICA

Harry Higgs – Dallas, TX

Nicolai Hojgaard – DENMARK

Max Homa – Scottsdale, AZ

Billy Horschel – Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Sam Horsfield — ENGLAND

Viktor Hovland – NORWAY

Mackenzie Hughes — CANADA

Austin Hurt – Bainbridge Island, WA


Colin Inglis – Eugene, OR

Dustin Johnson – Jupiter, FL

Zach Johnson – Sea Island, GA

Jared Jones – Houston, TX

Sadom Kaewkanjana — THAILAND

Martin Kaymer – GERMANY




Ryosuke Kinoshita – JAPAN

Chris Kirk – Athens, GA

Kevin Kisner – Aiken, SC

Patton Kizzire — Sea Island, GA

Brooks Koepka – West Palm Beach, FL

Jason Kokrak – Hudson, OH

Jinichiro Kozuma — JAPAN

Matt Kuchar – Sea Island, GA



Marc Leishman — AUSTRALIA

Luke List – Augusta, GA

Davis Love III – Sea Island, GA

Robert MacIntyre – SCOTLAND

Hideki Matsuyama – JAPAN

Sean McCarty – Solon, IA

Rory McIlroy – N. IRELAND

Mav McNealy — Las Vegas, NV

Kyle Mendoza – Oceanside, CA

Troy Merritt — Eagle, ID

Shaun Micheel – Memphis, TN

Phil Mickelson – Rancho Santa Fe, CA

Keith Mitchell — St. Simons Island, GA

Francesco Molinari – ITALY

Collin Morikawa – La Canada, CA

Jesse Mueller – Phoenix, AR

Sebastian Munoz — COLOMBIA

Kevin Na — Las Vegas, NV

Dylan Newman – Stamford, CT

Joaquin Niemann – CHILE

Shaun Norris – SOUTH AFRICA

Zac Oakley – King of Prussia, PA

Louis Oosthuizen – SOUTH AFRICA

Ryan Palmer – Colleyville, TX

Thomas Pieters – BELGIUM

Casey Pyne – Greenwich, CT

Chad Ramey – Fulton, MS

Patrick Reed – Houston, TX

Davis Riley — Dallas, TX

Xander Schauffele – San Diego, CA

Scottie Scheffler – Dallas, TX

Webb Simpson – Charlotte, NC

J.J. Spaun – Scottsdale, AZ

Jordan Spieth – Dallas, TX

Henrik Stenson – SWEDEN

Kevin Streelman – Wheaton, IL

Hudson Swafford – Sea Island, GA

Justin Thomas – Louisville, KY

Cameron Tringale – Mission Viejo, CA

Erik van Rooyen – SOUTH AFRICA

Daniel van Tonder — SOUTH AFRICA

Harold Varner III – Gastonia, NC

Jhonattan Vegas – VENEZUELA

Ryan Vermeer – Omaha, NE

Jimmy Walker – Terrell Hills, TX

Shawn Warren – Falmouth, ME

Bubba Watson – Bagdad, FL

Bernd Wiesberger – AUSTRIA

Aaron Wise — Jupiter, FL

Matt Wolff – Agoura Hills, CA

Gary Woodland – Topeka, KS

Articles You May Like

PGA Championship 2022: How bad golf provided an answer to Xander Schauffele
Rory McIlroy and Justin Thomas missed another chance at a major moment
PGA Championship tee times 2022: Starting times and pairings for the Sunday’s final round at Southern Hills
PGA Championship tier rankings: Will it take a miracle for Tiger to win?
1st victory since absence ‘means a lot’ to Stricker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.