LPGA player disqualified for failing to sign her own scorecard

News

In recent years, golf’s governing bodies have relaxed some of the game’s rules, including those regarding the signing of an incorrect scorecard. What hasn’t changed, though, is a player still has to sign his/her scorecard.

Unfortunately, one LPGA Tour pro found this out the hard way on Thursday at the Pelican Women’s Championship. Yu Liu forgot that tiny detail and was disqualified from the tournament.

Golfweek’s Beth Ann Nichols alerted us to the unusual situation:

As Nichols notes, Liu had opened the tournament with 74, so at least she didn’t waste a great score. At four over, the Chinese golfer sat 10 shots behind first-round leader Sophia Popov.

That being said, there were still three rounds to go, so anything’s possible. Well, anything other than Liu making this mental mistake again.

Golf

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Streb outlasts Kisner in playoff, wins RSM Classic
It’s ‘Sea Island strong’ among contenders in RSM Classic
Steph Curry and Phil Mickelson already taking shots at Charles Barkley’s golf swing
Joaquin Niemann is in a desperate race to save his infant cousin’s life
Here’s the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2020 RSM Classic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *